Some people believe that if the police force carries guns, it would encourage a higher level of violence in the society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many places around the world, it is commonplace for police officers to possess guns. Some people believe that police in the possession of weapons would level up the violent crimes in society. I disagree with this opinion because in my viewpoint, the law-enforcement officers armed can be beneficial to the society in deterring criminals, controlling the situation of a crime and protecting public citizens.

On the one hand, I would argue that armed police would bring negative impact on public security. To begin with, criminals might be also armed, they will fight against the police and protect themselves, which would increase the level of violence in the community. Furthermore, policemen are human beings, they might make mistakes by hurting ordinary people if the crime happens in public places. For example, when stopping an escaping criminal who poses a serious danger to the public, innocent people might be shot by accident.

On the other hand, I believe that police with guns will be beneficial to society. Firstly, armed police can act as a deterrent to the prospective offenders or habitual criminals. Secondly, police armed are able to arrest criminals or force them to surrender without physical violence. Finally, when policemen equipped with guns are involved in a dangerous condition and threaten by criminals, they are able to protect himself with a gun.

In conclusion, even though armed police officers can make negative impact on the public security, I strongly believe that they can make our society more safer by carrying guns on duty.