Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In consideration of the fact that the crime rate has been rising at an alarming speed, while some people believe that the human’s innate gene leads to crime, I would argue that various social circumstances such as poverty and inequality might be the two main factors.

On the one hand, some psychologists believe that some crimes are the result of people’s innate personal characteristics. One negative essence of human beings is greediness, and most of people are born with desire for better material conditions. Therefore, some of them may not stand the temptation and thus go astray like taking bribes to satisfy their eagerness for better standard of living.

On the other hand, some people believe that the external factors like poverty and inequality may be the major reasons for crime. Firstly, poverty is considered as a significant root of crime that compels underprivileged people to perform illegal actions. For example, once people’s basic demands such as food and safe refuge cannot be fulfilled due to financial struggles, laws will not have adequate power to deter people from committing crimes to sustain their lives. Secondly, inequality among people in terms of civil rights might be another factor that contributes to crime. For example, when citizen cannot experience the basic rights like access to advanced medical as their privileged counterparts do, their resentment again the unfairness might be inevitably provoked, and this might further lead to misconducts like participating in rebels.

In conclusion, although people’s negative nature may lead to crime, I believe that social circumstances like poor living standards and unfairness among people might be the main factors.