Some people think most crimes are the result of circumstances like poverty and other social problems. Others believe that they are caused by people who are bad in nature. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In consideration of the fact that the crime rate has been rising at an alarming speed in recent years, the question of whether this phenomenon originates from external factors like poverty or people’s inside nature has been a matter of much attention. Personally, I support the former more than the latter.

First of all, poverty is a significant root of crime that compels underprivileged people to perform illegal actions. As a matter of fact, many disadvantaged people suffering from unfavorable living conditions break the law just to achieve a fundamental quality of life. For example, once basic demands such as food or safe refuge cannot be fulfilled due to financial struggles, laws will not have adequate power to deter people from committing crimes to sustain their life.

Another significant social problem that may contribute to crime might be inequality among people in terms of civil rights. When citizens cannot experience the same basic rights like access to advanced medical care as their privileged counterparts, their resentment against the unfairness would inevitably be provoked. This might further lead to misconducts such as participating in rebels, which could be an effective approach for those people to relieve their hatred against unjust treatment.

However, it has to be admitted that some cases of crime are the result of innate personal characteristics. One negative essence of human beings might be their greediness, and most people are born with the desire for better material conditions. Therefore, some of them may not stand the temptation and thus go astray like taking bribes to satisfy their eagerness for better standard of living.

To conclude, although certain crime may result from lawbreakers’ inner qualities, I am still convinced that most crime arises from various social circumstances among which poverty and inequality could be the two basic factors.