Some people think all lawbreakers should be put into prison, while others believe that there are better alternatives. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is common practice all over the world to send criminals to prison and this is considered as the best way to deal with them. However, some people suggest that alternative solutions are more effective. This essay will discuss the issue from both sides.

According to most people, it is necessary to send criminals to jail for public security and justice. It would have a deterrent effect on those who intend to commit crimes. By contrast, if criminals can escape the punishment, there is a risk that the crime rate would increase and the society would become unstable and dangerous. In addition, it is fair for victims and their relatives to see the criminals imprisoned; otherwise people would protest and lose their confidence in the government and on the law.

However, some people believe that to rehabilitate criminals is likely to need more than a simple imprisonment. Firstly, a large number of people perpetrated crimes because they know little about the law and lack basic skills to earn a living. Therefore, training classes seem to be a better solution, which can raise their awareness about the law and teach them practical skills. Secondly, some law violators are very talented and they are the experts in certain areas. If they were allowed to continue to work and make contribution to the society, it would be beneficial for them and for the society as well.

In my point of view, there is no doubt that criminals, particularly those charged with grave offenses, must be sent to prison, as their behaviors are dangerous. By contrast, if the lawbreakers realize their mistakes and the consequences are not serious, they can be exempted from punishment and alternative ways should be used.