Some people believe that individuals are responsible for their own personal happiness. Others argue that happiness can be affected by other factors.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that the pursuit of happiness is one of humankind's greatest motivations. While the personal and internal happiness is more difficult to describe, many psychologists debate that there are other external factors which give people the opportunities to experience or achieve happiness. Both of these views will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, individuals are responsible for their own happiness since nobody can make happiness for them. Humans ought to make more efforts to obtain all goals for themselves which is a golden rule of life. What is more is that each individual only lives once in this world. Therefore, instead of wasting their time fooling around or being lazy, they should live with their full passion along with taking joy and pleasure from life.

On the other hand, some citizens argue that the happiness of people relates to their relationship, social status, wealth and career success. If someone has enough money in his pocket, he will have the chance to enjoy a luxurious life with family and obviously happiness as well. Moving to another point, humans spend one part of their day dealing with their work. That is the reason why every worker should do their own, favourite job. It is not only less stressful and tiring but you also can take joy and satisfaction while working.

To sum up, happiness is difficult to define because it is particularly different to each individual, but I wholeheartedly believe that our basic needs for shelter, food and job need to be fulfilled before we can experience it.