Some people believe it is better to study subjects that have practical applications. Others, however, think it is better to study subjects that are theoretical.

Discuss both views.

Studying at university is the pathway to gaining successful employment in one's chosen field. Therefore, some hold the belief that students would benefit more in the future by studying practical subjects at university. However, others believe it is more beneficial to study theoretical subjects. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of both types of courses.

It is worthy for university students to study theoretical subjects in preparation for their future careers. We cannot have practice without theory as theoretical knowledge is the foundation of practical skills. For example, it is expected that a surgeon needs to practice performing operations to gain the necessary applied skills. However, before the practice, he or she must first know the theories of human physiology. They need to know where things are in the body, and how it works theoretically before practicing surgical procedures.

However, the study of subjects with practical applications also has its merits. Studying practical subjects like applied mathematics, applied science or applied engineering gives students practical skills that they can then apply in their future working roles. If someone is expected to apply practical skills, and they only have theoretical knowledge, then they may struggle to perform their tasks. For example, a mechanic learns best from actually working on a car to understand where all of the parts are. Therefore, studying applied subjects helps to consolidate theory by putting it into practice.

In conclusion, there are those who believe students should focus on studying practical subjects, while there are others who believe that theoretical subjects should take precedence. A combination of both subjects would benefit students in their future careers.