Some people believe that it is good for a country to host a major sports competition. Others think it causes many problems for the country. Discuss both points of view and give your opinion.

It is believed by some that organizing an international sports event brings several benefits for a nation, whereas others are of the opinion that this has only detrimental effects. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before my personal opinion is given.

One of the biggest disadvantages of holding major sports contests is that it may damage the environment. When a sporting event is organized, millions of tourists will come at the same time, which may lead to severe pressures on natural resources such as water, electricity in the local area. Additionally, an international sports competition may also threaten national security. In other words, due to the enormous number of people gathering in one place, the risk of crime, terrorism and other social unrests runs particularly high. Lastly, financial problems are also inevitable. For instance, Greece suffered a great debt crisis after becoming the host country for the 2004 Olympic Games as it spent almost 10 billion dollars on this single event.

Turning to the other side of the argument, hosting a world-class sports tournament would boost the economy of the host country. Visitors from all over the world who come to support their national teams may spend more money than usual sightseers. The cost of accommodation, food and beverage, souvenirs as well as the pay-and-go packages offered by travel agents in different countries are apparently higher during peak periods. Apart from the positive contribution from retail sales increase, the economy also positively affected by the creation of extra temporary jobs such as the service, transport and trade sectors. These seasonal jobs create bright avenues of employment. Besides, organizing competition also promotes host countries’ cultures. This is a golden opportunity to promote ones’ traditions and customs to foreigners.

In conclusion, while there are plus points to hosting major sports contests, too much would be lost as a result. Developing the economy without organizing sports events should be prioritised to ensure a substantial development for future generations.