Some people believe that it is good for a country to host a major sports competition. Others think it causes many problems for the country. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

While an international sporting event is believed to bring numerous benefits, opponents of this notion assume that this event is generally harmful. This essay will elaborate on both arguments and show why hosting a sports event has more merits.

There are undeniable advantages for hosting an international sporting event, the most important of which is a boost to the local economy. A high-profile sports competition often attracts a significant number of foreign visitors coming to support their national teams. This would lead to higher revenues for local businessmen as they provide goods and services for international tourists. Another crucial reason why a mega sports event should be held lies in better performances of athletes. Having the opportunity to compete in their own countries would increase athletes’ confidence which plays a vital role in the victory of the competition.

However, having said that, the most negative impact of a global sports competition in terms of security cannot be ignored. Although security is usually taken into careful consideration, the tourist overload makes it difficult for the host country to control the situation. Hence, criminals would take advantage of this event to commit a petty crime such as pick-pocketing or seriously, they could set a bomb to serve for terrorism purposes. Moreover, the organization of a major sports event can take a toll on the environment owing to the increase in the amount of trash. Not only does the country have a public hygiene issue, but it also damages the image considerably built.

In conclusion, there are both positives and negatives to hosting a global sports event. Personally, a sporting tournament should be held as it places high importance on the host nation.