Some people think that cars should be banned in big city centers. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that the government should discourage cars from driving in metropolitan areas. In my opinion, I completely agree with this notion.

The first reason why car-free cities exist lies in the health benefit. Specifically, rural areas are choking from pollution, and the significant source of pollution coming from car exhaust. In fact, WHO found that nine in ten people globally breathe in dirty air, contributing to seven million premature deaths every year. By implementing a car ban, people are more inclined to approach a more liveable lifestyle.

Secondly, the government might take the car-free plunge owing to the safety of cyclists and pedestrians. Particularly, in rush hour, there is no such apparent divide between the distance of each zone, leading to the overuse of pedestrian and cycling zone. There is no doubt that people traveling by bike or walking experience higher risks of getting involved in accidents. Therefore, the restriction of cars helps protect people from external harm and even induce a habit of using zero-emission modes of transportation.

Finally, people derive economic perks related to the prohibition of cars. For instance, the USA has boasted 10 billion parking spots for about 250 million cars, with many states devoting a more than 60% of their estate to vehicles. By reducing the number of cars on the streets, the government may save a great amount of money and allocate them for more serious problems such as climate change.

In conclusion, a pledge to ban cars can bring substantial benefits such as curbing emissions, bring safety for pedestrians and cyclists, and sparing money for countries. If the government enacted laws about car ban sooner, then hopefully we could tackle many problems before it becomes unfixable.