The best way that a government can reduce the traffic congestion in cities is to provide public transport free of cost to people 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views on the solutions to minimize the impact of traffic jam. From my point of view, I completely detest the notion of offering public transport with no fees in big cities 24/7.

It would be an exaggeration to claim that supplying public transport cost-free is the ultimate measure to decrease traffic congestion. While I believe this financial support could motivate people to use public transport instead of private vehicles, the drivers may be seriously influenced when this solution is implemented. Particularly, many drivers consider driving public transport as their means of subsistence therefore if we do not charge people who commute by public transportation, is there any person who is always willing to take responsibility for drivers ‘income? To solve this problem, the supporters may suggest the government could take advantage of automated train systems to put restrictions on the traffic jam. However, the unmanned subways need much time to test and operate as well as substantial investments which may not be attained in low-income and populous countries.

Another drawback of zero-fare public transport is the rise of slower service. To be more precise, when fare-free transports are widely accepted, they will attract more people to participate which makes the time for commuting between the stops become longer. As a result, there will be an increase in the stress of drivers and the dissatisfaction of customers. For instance, the council of a small city in the USA has recently received complaints from their residents due to the late budget-friendly public transportation which leads to the disorder of their schedules.

In conclusion, I believe the public transportation free of charge 24/7 in big cities should not be allowed to operate as it still has numerous negative points.