Some people think that famous people can help international aid organizations to draw attention to important problems. Others believe that the celebrities can make the problems seem less important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is a belief that celebrities can use their influence to raise public awareness on important matters. However, some people think that famous people may be in charge of making problems underestimated. This essay will discuss both arguments and explain why I believe that the former statement is more convincing.

On the one hand, celebrities can have a positive effect on colossal problems by setting a good example of how to live and act. For instance, Leonardo DiCaprio, a prominent actor, has founded an organization to protect the environment since 1998. Furthermore, he also utilizes the usage of social media and public consciousness to bring the attention of the public to several environmental issues. Famous people like Leonardo that show participation in humanitarian efforts are undoubtedly role models for teenagers.

On the other hand, serious problems can also be undermined owing to celebrities’ scandals. Particularly, if a famous person is involved in an accusation of sexual harassment or drug addiction, criticism for his behavior would appear straightaway. Since he portrays a negative image of himself, calls for a boycott from any brands or organizations, which he represents can also raise. This action will definitely have a counter-argumentative result on those associations as they have been expecting an increase in the number of participants.

In conclusion, not only do celebrities catch the public’s interest in major problems, but they can also undervalue the significance of crucial matters whenever they are involved in scandals. From my point of view, the benefits of having celebrities to be representative of an international organization are much more appealing. If each association was more careful in seeking the influencer, then hopefully famous people would put their power to good use.