Some people believe that it is a good idea to share as much information as possible in scientific research, business and the academic world. Others believe that some information is too important or too valuable to be shared freely.

It is considered by some that spreading information about scientific research, business and academic must be encouraged whereas there are others who assume some information is vital or treasured. In my opinion, I believe some information is better kept undisclosed.

On the one hand, those who think that sharing information is good habit, enjoy benefits. Such people are also receiving information in return in the three mentioned fields. This would in return, lead to advancements and development such as more profit or new invention. Moreover, giving information help in building relationship, trust, collaboration among groups and organizations. Therefore, business will flourish and more breakthrough in scientific study will be discovered.

On the other hand, keeping some data unrevealed is a wise practice, such as data which could make a certain business achieve higher sale target or a research which assist in manufacturing a new product that could prosper the economics of certain country if exported. For instance, a developing bank in Sudan conducted a survey in a rural area. As a result, using the data collected in the survey, the bank opened a branch in that area hence assisting the bank to grow and gain more business. If that data was leaked to the bank competitors, it would be a great lost and wasted effort.

The upshot is that thought there is a dilemma of whether information sharing is noble or some information must remain hidden however, I feel some information is better kept classified due to their importance and significance and must be shared at a cost.