Some people believe that it is possible for a country to be economically successful and have a clean environment. Others argue that these two aims are not compatible. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Economics and the environment are two major aspects that determine a successful country. Many people claim that it is possible to an economically progressive land without disrupting the natural resources or causing pollution. However, other people think that it is not possible as one aspect has to sacrifice to achieve the other. In my opinion, it is wholly possible for a nation to be a wealthy nation while maintaining a clean environment.

Undoubtedly, there are many nations that are progressive in terms of their economy while having pollution-free surroundings. This is for the reason that they have adopted programs and implemented laws to protect nature while maintaining their country’s wealth. For instance, New Zealand is known for its being an economically independent and environmentally friendly nation. According to reports, they have no debts in the world bank and their people generally feel financially and economically secure. Additionally, the country is also known to have one of the least nations that generate air and plastic pollution. Thus, it can be inferred that economical and environmental success could co-exist in a nation.

Meanwhile, others still argue that the goal to achieve economic success with a favorable environment is not possible. This negative viewpoint could be attributed to the notion that an economically successful nation develops more industries that generate increasing amounts of waste. For example, most developing countries, like India have reported that with their increasing GDP, air quality, especially in major cities worsens. With more activities to boost the economy, such as transportation, more pollution is generated. This, however, could be mitigated if the country could adapt to more environmentally friendly transport systems, like efficient public transportation and other cars that generate less pollution.

With both viewpoints discussed, there is a high possibility that nations could be both rich economically and environmentally. It strongly depends on how the country could adapt to advancements like building environmentally friendly buildings, the use of fewer cars, decrease the usage of plastic bags, and many more nature-friendly activities.