Many believe that individuals can do little to improve the environment. Only governments and large companies can make a real difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental improvement is a global concern. It is argued that only governments and big companies can contribute efficiently, and individuals can only do so much but with little effects on the improvement of the environment. However, this issue concerns everyone and I believe that individuals, governments, and business groups should work hand in hand for the betterment of the environment.

Undoubtedly, governments and companies play a big role in saving the planet. Through government regulations, laws can be implemented to mitigate activities that harm nature. For instance, in a local government, there’s a rule that burning garbages or incineration is against the law. This is due to the fact that the fumes from burning releases noxious gases into the air that is harmful to the earth’s ozone layer. Also, companies have big impacts in saving mother earth. One strategy implemented by a large fast-food chain was the use of reusable straws, or not using plastic straws. This minimizes the amount of plastic garbages that takes hundreds of years to decompose.

Similarly, individuals also could highly contribute in improving the current state of the environment. It may be little acts of recycling products, abiding in proper waste disposal, or simply taking a walk or riding a bike instead of driving. These activities may not be as profound compared to what large associations could implement but if all or most of the population do these the results will be as effective. Also, there are few individuals who are financially capable of giving billions of their money to fund research on how to preserve the environment.

All in all, the premise of who could contribute more to saving the environment should be disregarded since everyone should work hard in preserving nature. Every effort in saving mother earth is important because these acts will have a positive cumulative effect in the long run.