Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are many people who argue that it is more important to enjoy one’s job than to work for a permanent job that keeps them unsatisfied. Meanwhile, others think that having an unenjoyable job is not necessary for as long as it offers security. These two viewpoints will be further discussed in this essay before the writer renders an opinion.

On the one hand, job satisfaction offers a lot of importance in the workforce. With workers satisfied with their current work, it increases retention in the labor force. For instance, if one desired to be a grade school teacher, despite mediocre salary or load work, a teacher would still remain in the job because it makes him/her fulfill his/her passion for teaching. Another point is, according to statistics, among fresh graduates, those who chose their job preference were most likely to keep their jobs for a minimum of 2 years than those who chose jobs according to demand or salary, who left their employers before 6 months. Thus, individuals who are satisfied with their jobs are most likely to stay employed and could avoid moving from one job to another.

On the other hand, people view that security is more necessary than pursuing one’s preference in terms of employment. This is somehow true because a secure job offers financial stability. As in the case of parents, who provide the basic needs of their children, it is very risky not to have a steady income. Without financial stability in the family, different problems will stem that would most likely lead to unhealthy relationships between members. Thereby, one needs a good-paying job to satisfy physiological needs.

Undoubtedly, nowadays, sometimes it’s hard to find a job that offers both satisfaction and stability. However, in my viewpoint, it’s important for individuals to find a job they are interested in, for as long as it can provide money for basic needs. I believe that it is not necessary to work for a high-paying job that does not give a sense of fulfillment.