Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular.

Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, online shopping has become more popular because the internet connection is accessible everywhere and the advent of handheld devices allows buyers to shop anytime. This type of purchasing has many perks and the disadvantages of using it are few and tolerable. These advantages of purchasing online include convenience and energy-saving. Meanwhile, the internet is also a place of bogus sellers and buyers, and other dishonest transactions.

In the past, before the internet happened, people only sold things in public markets or malls and did home visits to attract buyers, however today there’s a new way to buy items through the use of the internet which is more convenient. Through buying online people can visit different shops without going outside their homes, or while they are engaging in some tasks. Additionally, the payments can be made through debit and credit cards. For instance, when someone purchases a gadget via a website, buyers need only to enter their personal details including the address, credit card details and add to cart the items they want, eventually, after a while, a confirmation will be given that delivery is on its way. Thus shopping online makes life easier with less time invested in the purchasing process.

However, the internet is also a place where some people takes advantage because products are not examined closely, there are bogus buyers, and some transactions are not legal. For example, there are sellers of gadgets who post excellent descriptions of their products on their sites, but upon receipt of the item by the buyer, the product was not the same or an unauthentic item was given. Meanwhile, sellers can sometimes be also victims because of buyers who order but never pays or either cancels their orders. This affects the profit of the business, which might cause bankruptcy or simply discouragement of selling online.

Undoubtedly, there are advantages as well as disadvantages of selling and buying online, but I personally believe that the pros outweigh the cons regarding this issue. Since I believe that the majority of online sellers adhere to regulations in online marketing. With more strict implementation of online selling rules and regulations, bogus sellers and buyers will be penalized accordingly.