It is said that the best way to solve the world's environmental problems is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The problem in the environment has been one of the world’s greatest concern, nowadays. There are claims that the most effective solution to this problem is increasing fuel prices. In my opinion, decrease fuel consumption could help curb environmental damage but it would create consequences if the price will be increased. I believe that in protecting the environment, there are many activities that could be employed, other than the fuel price increase.

Undoubtedly, increasing fuel prices could create a decrease in consumption and demand which will in turn decrease environmental damage caused by fuel. As in the case of coal, if it will be taxed highly and its price increased, people, factories, or governments will resolve in finding an alternative to this form of fuel. This strategy could be employed but with negative consequences, especially to the economy.

This increase in fuel price could lead to economic decline in many countries, especially in developing ones. It could be noted that fuel, such as coal is also used in the production of many goods. In this case, the prices of other products will also increase which will create a burden to poor communities. This would be an added financial constraint to many people despite it’s a positive effect on nature, many families and communities will suffer if there would be no alternative approach.

Additionally, many activities are available in saving the environment without increasing the prices of fossil fuels. There are regulations such as banning the use of plastics or promoting the use of renewable forms of energy. For instance, communities could transform their energy sources to use solar instead of relying on coal. Also, individuals could recycle plastics and buy only biodegradable products in order to lessen waste and pollution. Thus, instead of putting a burden on the consumer with fuel increases, other activities need to be adopted to combat environmental damage.

To conclude, there is no one single best practice to solve environmental damages, not even increasing the fuel price. I believe it is in the collective effort of authorities and individuals that could mitigate environmental issues.