Some people think that young people should spend their free time with their families instead of enjoying outside entertainment. However, others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Everyone has their own plans for spending their free time. There are young individuals who think that time away from work or studies should be spent with one’s family, while others believe that enjoying time away from home is far better. In my point of view, enjoying one’s free time, especially when a person is young, should be balanced between the two options.

Undoubtedly, young people nowadays prefer te enjoy activities with their peers if they are not at work or school. This is secondary to the fact that they have the same level of developmental age and in dire need of approval from their peers. For instance, young adults, in their early 20’s who work in the same unit, prefer to hang out after work in entertainment bars or plan weekend trips. For these groups of individuals, activities are more enjoyable because the majority have the same likes and dislikes and it strengthens one’s friendship and camaraderie. Eventually, young people develop a positive outlook in relationships and in their life, as a whole.

However, it could also be noted, that spending time away outside with friends, colleagues, or schoolmates have its own drawback, such as not being able to spend time with one’s family. Without nurturing relationships within the basic unit of a family, the social support system of a person is negatively affected. The main reason why young people cannot bond with their families is the belief that their parents are most of the time forcing them to engage in activities away from their preference. For instance, an adolescent in the family cannot appreciate the walk and play in parks which their younger siblings enjoy. This attitude of young people towards family time is the reason why they want to be with their peers.

Considering both ways of spending a young person’s free time it could be noted that one could not be better than the other. A young person should be taught how to be well-rounded and manage how to spend quality time to establish long-lasting relationships both with their peers and family.