Some say that economic development is the solution to poverty; others say it is the cause of poverty. Do you agree or disagree with the statement? Give your own opinion.

Poverty is a global problem. There are people who argue that the solution to this is economic development while others view that it does not solve the problem but rather causes it. I refute this statement, as I believe that economic development alleviates people from poverty for many reasons.

To begin with, a developed economy brings a lot of advantages to people, in terms of financial sustainability and education. Governments with good economic status have funds to support their population’s needs. For instance, authorities could create projects that generate jobs that would in turn support individuals and families financially. Most importantly, with a stable economy, education can be provided for free to the marginalized people in society. With literacy and educational achievement, individuals can find income-generating jobs to support their families.

Meanwhile, it cannot be denied that economic development sometimes increases the margin between the rich people and the poor ones. There are claims that an economically developed country only benefits wealthy people. However, this is a premise that needs to be addressed by the government's distribution of resources makes the marginalized society more oppressed. If the government has enough funds and resources they should provide social services, such as health care, free education, and jobs to those who need it.

All in all, there are many reasons why there is poverty but surely a developed economy is not the cause but one of the major solutions to eradicate it. Nonetheless, with increased government resources, public programs could be implemented to uplift the poverty in many communities.