It is not uncommon that children are required to obey the rule of their parents and teachers. Some people are worried that too much control over children will not prepare them well for their adult life. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, parental and teacher control over the lives of children has been a growing concern. Commonly, children are expected to follow the rules of their parents and teachers. However, some people think that with excessive control in young individuals, they will not be prepared for the many rigors of adult life. In my opinion, guidance is necessary for young people but parents and teachers should not be too hard on them because it may lead to negative consequences.

Undoubtedly, obedience to authorities, especially to parents and teachers has positive effects on the overall well-being of a child. It is in the right intention of parents to raise their children in order for them to be better individuals. For example, honesty as a rule in the home should be implemented by parents through emphasizing that lying is a wrong habit while giving positive reinforcement if children said the truth. Thus, imposing disciplinary guidelines early on a child’s life could help them become morally upright individuals in society.

However, there are cases when excessive disciplinary measures are being imposed by parents and teachers, which have a negative impact on a child’s life. With too much authority imposed on young people, they tend to rebel against the rules. According to psychologists, the increased feeling of a child being trapped and having no control in his/her life makes him/her resort to negative behavior. Another point is that some children who are submissive tend to depend on their entire lives on their parents. They become passive in making a decision for their own lives while others even become financially dependent on their parents. Therefore, there should be moderation on imposing authority over the lives of young people in order for them not to suffer any potential ill effects.

Considering the two sides of the discussion, it could be inferred that in preparing children to live an adult life, there should be proper guidance with the moderation on regulations imposed. Children also need to make independent decisions in their lives in order for them to develop holistically. They need to be reprimanded if they go beyond the rules but they should also be allowed to exercise their freedom and rights.

To conclude, requiring children to obey rules makes them prepared for the basic principles in life but it could lead to too much dependence if parents and teachers are excessively controlling. Thus, a balance between control and freedom should be given to them.