Some people think that to lead a successful life a university degree is important. Others believe that this is no longer true nowadays.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

These days taking a university degree is being argued no longer as a determinant of a person’s success. There may be advantages of not going into university but in my point of view, there are higher chances to achieve one’s success when a person has a university degree.

On the one hand, studying in universities opens a lot of opportunities to every individual that can make them successful. One thing is more knowledge and understanding in one’s field of practice or study. For instance, persons interested in psychology could learn theories, do research, and apply their learning in a particular field. Another positive point in pursuing a university degree is establishing connections with people. On university campuses, there are lots of engaging activities that open up opportunities for like-minded people. These connections could be helpful in building a successful career, like professors that could sponsor students to pursue post-graduate studies. Subsequently, an individual with a university degree has more chances of getting a job position because many employers look for this qualification. Thus, with more advantages of holding a university degree offers, there are more chances of living a successful life.

On the other hand, the fact cannot be also refuted that there are people who have been successful without studying in universities. These are individuals who pursued a passion, learned skills online, and did other exemplary activities. However, according to statistics, there are only a few who reached success by doing things like these. Moreover, the chances of failure in pursuing someone’s passion is more likely than the chances of not getting a university degree. For instance, some people are trying to establish blogs online who depends on luck that one day they will be popularly known for their ideas. Unfortunately, with hundreds of thousands of internet bloggers, there are really slim chances that one will be instantly famous. In this case, the probability of success is so little, and banking up one’s profile with a degree sounds more rational.

Undoubtedly, a successful life has many determinants. However, there are higher chances of living in success if one will invest with years of education than simply waiting for an opportunity. Eventually, one’s passion could still be pursued after getting a degree, and could still be successful in the long run.