Some industrialized countries have serious environmental problems. The damage to the environment is an inevitable result when a country tends to improve the standard of living. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, industrialization has become common in many countries. This had brought serious consequences to the environment, such as pollution. There are arguments that an industrialized or developed country results in environmental damage inevitably. In my opinion, this claim is flawed for reasons which will be discussed further in this essay.

Undoubtedly, industrialization brings negative consequences, most especially in the environment. This is true when a city or country improved its way of living and technological advancements emerge which could result in pollution. For example, with an increased number of people who can afford cars in cities, there could be traffic congestion which in turn results in air pollution. This scenario is one representation of the many ways in which development affects the environment.

However, presently, it is possible to have a developed society without damaging the environment. Many of the first world countries are working towards an environmentally friendly approach in developing their places. As in the case of the Netherlands, people are geared toward using carbon-free emission cars. These modern cars are using a renewable source of electricity and do not emit harmful gas to the air. This form of development might be costly but the investment will return in many folds in the long run, one of which is the air quality in cities.

Moreover, developed countries are investing in much environment-friendly technology. This awareness has been reinforced by many scientists, as they claim that the greatest investment a country could have is in its natural resources. For instance, products in the market are now converted to be biodegradable and organic. This move decreases plastic and toxic wastes in the surroundings. Thus, it’s possible to improve people’s standard of living and consider environmental factors.

To conclude, global development is inevitable but it does not mean that the environment should be harm along the process. There are many practices that people and authorities could adapt to attain a better standard of living without sacrificing environmental welfare.