Interviews have always been the most common way to choose among job candidates. Some people now think that there are better ways of finding the right person for a job.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many forms of assessment could be used in finding the right person to work for a company. Most employers prefer conventional interviews to screen their applicants. This way is best suitable for many job positions, however, I think that in some line of work other ways of assessing applicants could be utilized, such as written examinations and objective tests on skills in order to find the most suitable individual for the job.

Undoubtedly, interviews give information and the physical profile of a person applying for a position. The questions asked by hiring officers are structured to assess the ability of a person, as well as the personal and work intentions of an applicant. Through face-to-face interviews, physical limitations and personal appearance can be seen, which is mostly a requirement for a specific position. For example, in the field of aviation, flight attendants are required to have a pleasing personality and reach a specific height requirement. These physical attributes are important as there are studies that pleasant-looking crews promotes better travel experience to passengers, and an advantage in height is needed to help travelers assist them in reaching cabin drawers.

However, among other job positions interview is not enough to determine a persons ability to handle a job. In the fields of computer work and hospital institutions, some employer uses a series of examinations and objective structural tests. For instance, there are jobs in the market that requires a lot of paper or computer works. They deal with the analysis of data, thus, to sift through the right person for the job among candidates, examination alone is needed. Also, in the hospital, nursing departments are hiring applicants based on their skills through a set of objective structured tests, where demonstration and critical thinking are assessed at the same time.

Finally, all these ways to find the best person for a job could be used according to the needed skill. The interview could be the most convenient way but to hire people with the best knowledge and skills, examinations and series of demonstrative skills must be included.