Governments should spend more money on medical research and less on researching the environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are debates on where should governments invest concerning research studies. While some people believe funding medical research is more important than environmental research. I think that both are essential to human progress, thus governments should compromise to spend money on both aspects.

Undoubtedly, medical research offers many possibilities in advancing human health. This is for the reason that the treatment of diseases can be discovered and human life-span can be increased. Cancer, for example, is one of the highest causes of mortality among many populations. Cancer treatment requires a lot of hospital resources and is expensive. Moreover, the emotional burden of the diagnosis to families affects their daily lives. Thus, if scientists and physicians’ cancer research would be well-funded by authorities, an increase in positive research pitches can be expected.

However, not only medical research is essential to human life. Environmental research is equally important and should be funded just as much as medical studies. This is because climate change is creating havoc to the planet that puts all terrestrial life at risk. Currently, there have been reports that glaciers in the Antarctic are melting at an unprecedented rate. This is caused by heatwave which leads to the loss of animal life in the region. Most importantly, this melting of glaciers is causing the water levels to rise which might wipe out low lands where people live. Thus, there should be also extensive finding of solutions to these environmental problems.

In conclusion, both medical and environmental research are necessary to create a better world. If governments only focus on medical research, other problems on the planet would not be remedied, especially the environmental aspect. Authorities need to give equal attention and reconsider the importance of both fields to preserve quality life for the future.