Some people believe that it is wrong to keep animals in zoos, while others think that zoos are both entertaining and ecologically important.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed a tremendous increase in the number of zoos to protect wild species. While a handful of people believe that it is beneficial to society in some ways, I think that this tendency has brought more harm than good.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why people find it reasonable for maintaining wildlife in zoos. Firstly, zoos play a key role in wildlife conservation as they help to protect endangered animals. Scientists can also be benefited from them without exposing themself to life-threatening jungles. Furthermore, zoological gardens, as well as aquariums, employ a large number of people and they provide better job opportunities and income for the local area. Meanwhile, the money raised can be used for conservation projects to heal Mother Nature. Finally, children in urban areas can have practical experience of wildlife and nature.

On the other hand, I believe that we have no right to capture wild creatures in zoos. To begin with, they will lose their hunting instinct after being trapped in artificial environments for a long period. Moreover, keeping them in cages and stages for exhibitions is considered to be unethical when it comes to the aim of making profits. And it would be better if people save them by letting their natural habitats bounce back. Thus, saving wild animals would have been far more effortless.

In conclusion, society has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding the adverse features of zoos. While certain zoos will bring entertaining and educational values to society, nonetheless, I would argue that it is insignificant to take advantage of animals that deserved to live in the wild.