Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime Discuss both views and give your opinion

Governments have adopted various methods to reduce crime across the globe. While some people argue that long-term jail sentences are the best option to lower crime rates, others opine that there are different ways to tackle this issue. This essay will discuss both these views in detail; and provide evidence on why I support the notion that using alternative measures is the ideal way to decrease crime.

Longer jail sentence has been a common punishment used by the judicial since decades. This considered as an effective method as releasing criminals early could be a threat to the public. Although they are given various training like anger control therapy and mind rejuvunation techniques, majority of them return back to their illegal activities once they are released from the jail. They are not only risk to the people's life, but can also influence youngsters to follow their path. Hence, longer jail sentences of prisoners mitigates the risks of damage to the society.

However, there are better ways to alleviate the illegal activities in a society. One of such methods is that the government should provide public awareness in order to lower criminality. These sessions will mould the citizen's minds to adhere to the laws and regulations, which in turn can decrease the crime rate. Other than this, if an individual is found to possess a criminal behaviour, then they should be taken to a counsellor or a psychiatrist before they commit an offense. For instance, when a child is suspected of being influenced to carry out activities like theft, smuggling, or a fight, then the parents should immediately taken an expert opinion to bring the child's mind-set to the right direction. Thus, using these preventive measures can the bend the graph curve of crime rate downwards.

In conclusion, although many people believe that longer jail sentence is the best way to decrease crime, there are people who oppose this ideology. I reiterate that there are other ways to reduce the crime rate; which includes educating the public and providing counselling to people who are prone to develop criminal behaviour