some people believe that nature is more important than nurture. to what extent do you agree?

Trying to separate out nature and nurture as explanations for human’s behaviors is now said to be both impossible and unproductive since human beings’ behavioral patterns seem to be highly complex. While researchers are aware of the complexity of gene-environment interaction, the nature or nurture model persists as a simple way of framing discussion on the causes of behavior, this essay will examine both sides of the debate.

To begin with, genes are known to be the basic and functional units of heredity. Some believe that humans have been influences by their genome and recently some modern debates have centered around the effects of genes have on human disposition as opposed to the influences the environment and upbringing may have. To substantiate, several studies conducted on twins separated shortly after their birth reveal that genetics do play a crucial part in the development of certain personality characteristics, sexual orientation and etc. Besides, mental health conditions including schizophrenia, depression and something alike have been more likely to develop when their genealogy shows their traces in the family even if the mental illnesses should not be considered merely as the result of abnormal or defective genes, since environment has had major impacts on people, too.

Despite the significance of heredity and nature on people’s behavior and persona, other have begun to question its thorough validity, because one cannot deny the effects of family, environment, and the personal acquisition. The detractors of genetic traits as the dominant factors in forming one’s characters insist that being raised in broken home, dysfunctional family and deprived condition may result in some anti-social behavior which needn’t be necessarily inherited or determined by genes. Not only does healthy condition help a person to behave better, but also acquired personalities and behavioral features can be the direct results of the environment people belong or are living in. although it is said that the personality of a person is formed in their childhood and in their formative years, an adult person needs string motivation and fulfilling incentives to behave properly in different or even challenging conditions. If a person cannot find those satisfying factors in the environment they are, they may tend to act differently or worse aggressively despite their calm nature. On the other hand, contemporary world is where one is permanently exposed to aggression, tyranny, unpleasant war news, manslaughter, and violence reported on media; so the inevitability of violence and aggressive manner has been risen even if that human’s conduct is not regarded as an innate part of one’s being. Moreover, the more violent TV programs or computer games people are involved in, the more anti-social behavior people intend to do.