Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Through many centuries, the families of music styles and genres have been developed, which people have more choices to select their favourite kinds of music for relaxing. It is often said that people have loads of music category for experiencing in modern times, and their lives are significantly more vivid and worth living. In my views, aside from advantages of many music choices, it can have some drawbacks.

On the one hand, a range choice of music type has some benefits. The first reason is that some people contended listening to a variety of music helps them gain diversity in music horizons. The mixture of some types of music with which people get along allows them to define themselves. For instance, a person interested in rock, rap, hip-hop music usually has an energetic personality. However, sometimes they may choose comforting chords such as relaxing instrumental music, ballad songs also expressing their other aspects. Besides, as music has intrinsically link to our cultures, it will bring people all around the world to come together. If someone has little in common with the other while making friends, they can choose a list of music types or singers to carry on a conversation.

On the other hand, a bunch of musical choices also have some drawbacks. Firstly, the excessive choice of music could cause people to be a hassle. Therefore, focusing on some particular types are preferable, but others could be neglected. With the evolution of modern music such as electronic dance music (EDM), popular music, the traditional music like jazz, opera, and some kinds of folk music were abandoned in the age of innovation. For example, nowadays, Vietnamese adolescents have a high frequency of enjoying K-pop songs rather than other kinds of music and when asking them about Vietnamese folk music, they will show little knowledge of this. Secondly, due to the reduction of traditional music taste, music entertainment companies have particularly strong attention where music genres are favourable. It is comprehensible that performers who used to be active in folk music decide to change their musical active orientation. Gradually, there will be little artists who choose to dedicate their lives to the music, so that it can cause some kinds of music are being out of date.

In conclusion, we should continue developing music genres because of its symbol for one particular culture. However, while supporting and enjoying modern music, we should also remain others especially traditional music of a country.