Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

It is believed by some people that, in life, we have many choices to make in every aspect of our lives compared to what it was before. It is a statement which I also strongly agree.

To further elaborate on that fact, nowadays, with advancement of science, technology, education and transport, people have more opportunities to see and experience the world which is even away from where they live, which in turn, is much different in almost every aspect. Obviously, this increased knowledge on availability of new things and opportunities elsewhere makes people aware of the many more choices that are available to them. Moreover, with the advancement of technology and competition among businesses, many new products and services are emerged every single day, for example, two decades back there were only less than handful number of models for mobile phones and they also had only very limited features other than making a phone call, whereas now, there are hundreds, if not thousands, of models of mobile phones, which has even replaced several other household equipment such as camera, calculator, radio, diary, calendar, television etc.

Similarly, another good example is the automobile industry, where several decades back, the cars had only limited number of models and functions and it was not difficult to choose a car to fit your budget, whereas now, there are many manufacturers and thousands of models to choose with a spectrum from a mini car to a luxury limousine and some even have auto pilot. Furthermore, some decades back, even in universities, there were only very limited number of courses to study, but now, there are hundreds or even thousands of courses that one can study. Some degrees, you can even study from home, online.

In conclusion, it is an obvious fact that the number of choices have increased over the time. There is no single area that I could think of, where the number of choices have not increased.