Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

Growth in the economy is one of the main denominators of a country’s development as believed by many governments all over the world. But there are many other indicators that measure the growth of a country as a whole, such as social development, health indices, agricultural and industrial, sustainable development etc. However, in my opinion, economic development should be the most important one among them.

Firstly, one of the main denominators of the country’s development is their Gross Domestic Product (GDP), which is used to compare and rank countries in the development scale. In further explanation, it is the sum of values of all the products and services produced by a country in that particular year. Therefore, it represents most of all the other parameters of development in all production and services categories. Secondly, another main denominator is the Per-capita Income, which is the average income of a citizen in that country in a particular year. Obviously, if every citizen gets a good income, invariably the health, social and other parameters would also develop proportionately. Thirdly, if a country’s economy is developed, undoubtedly the industries, transport, infrastructure, defense and security etc. would also develop as the government is able to spend money for those area as well as to help the poor and helpless people of the country.

On the contrary, growth of economic indices would represent the data as a whole and it may not represent individual citizen of the country. Therefore, even if the per-capita income is high in the country, it does not mean that every citizen enjoys the same income. There would invariably be a spectrum of people from ultra-rich to poor and homeless people. Similarly, development in other parameters like social, health etc. would also not be a representation of the individual citizen, but as an average or as a whole.

In conclusion, I firmly believe the development of the economy should be the main focus of any government as it would affect the development of all the other parameters also both directly and indirectly towards the betterment of them. At the same time government should not neglect any other area also, because that would again affect the development of the economy negatively both directly and indirectly.