Some people believe that one of the best ways to solve environmental problem is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, it is believed that increasing the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles is one of the most effective solutions to the environmental problem. This essay will discuss both views and put forth my viewpoint.

On the one hand, it is noteworthy that raising cost of fuels for means of transportation can reduce the number of emissions. This is because when fuel cost is decreased, the use of vehicles on the road will be dipped to a great extent, resulting from the fear of having to waste money on this kind of fee. As a result, there will no longer be airborne pollution, which is one of the most alarming issues in the world. Another feasible explanation Is that raising cost of fuel may raise awareness of the local residents about their responsibility for protecting the environment. A recent research carried out in Britain, by way of illustration, has shown that nearly 500, 000 people in this country realized their charge for the environment and started acting for the planet by virtue of the rise in cost of fuel for vehicles.

On the other hand, opponents point out that the authorities should not raise the fuel cost of transportation and there are multifarious reasons to endorse this view. Admittedly, people may ought to bear financial burden if they live with the increase in cost of fuel. As a result, they will live under pressure, leading to a variety of mental diseases. Another justification worth mentioning is that this increase is likely to cause people to have difficulty transporting. For instance, according to a research conducted in Beijing, China in 2016, about 650, 000 Chinese people commuted with difficulty because of the decline in the use of vehicles, stemming from the increasing cost of fuel.

All things considered, convincing as two viewpoints may appear at first, I am assured to say that the government should boost the cost of fuel for means of transportation, which is more logical-based according to the above assumptions.