Some people believe online reading materials should only be used for a child to learn to read, whereas others believe that only printed materials should be used.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The question of whether online or printed materials should be employed in teaching a child how to read has been a controversial issue for decades. While some believe that online resources are better, others favor the use of conventional printed materials. In my opinion, the use of hard copy materials should be the method of choice because it is independent of technology and devoid of distractions.

On the one hand, advocates of the use of online materials support their stance because the internet avails one a large variety of materials on different subject matters. This, therefore, provides ample opportunity for a child to make a choice among these large expanse of available online resources. For instance, a child could learn via audio or video lessons on various educational websites. This facilitates seamless comprehension of what is being taught. This is one peculiarity that makes online learning supercede the use of texts.

On the other hand, proponents of the use of hard copy materials, which I am part of, maintain that learning via this method is better for the following reasons. Firstly, unlike the internet, using prints does not have to depend on technology. And this makes it easily accessible at anytime and in any place. However, with the use of internet, one has to rely on the use of electrical gadgets that might, at times, be complicated to operate and also depend on power supply, which,in most times, is epileptic. Moreso these electrical gadgets are sometimes prohibitively expensive, hence, unaffordable to all and sundry. Secondly, there are almost no distractions associated with learning the use of hard copies; unlike online users that are easy swayed into distractions owing to the abundance of needless information available in the cyberspace. For instance, children at times lose focus, and they surf the internet for pornographic materials. These attributes associated with the internet makes online learning counterproductive.

In conclusion, the best method of teaching a child how to read has been an agelong controversy. Despite varying opinions about this issue, I strongly believe that the use of printed materials should be favored because it enhances concentration and it is also accessible to everyone.