The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken legally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of speaking one language in the world.

Owing to the growth of tourism, English language is fast evolving to become the most important language in the world. According to some, a major consequence of this development is that English would become the only official language of communication around the globe. This essay would address the benefits and drawbacks of having a single language of communication on the planet.

A major downside of communicating in just a language is the loss of jobs that would accompany it. There are thousands of language translators who work for multinationals such as UNICEF and UN, and thereby making ends meet from translating languages at international events involving countries with varying lingua franca. In a situation where there is only one official spoken language worldwide, this would automatically render the jobs of these translators needless. Another drawback to this development is that individual nations known for a specific language, like Iran is for Arabic, would lose their uniqueness and consequently result in loss of national identity.

In spite the aforementioned disadvantages, there are some benefits that could result from communicating in a singular language globally. One significant advantage of this is the ease of communication that would accompany this situation. A foreigner would be able to live in any part of the world without having to learn a new language. This would enhance interpersonal relationship and give a sense of security to everyone without going through the arduous task of learning a new language.

In conclusion, certainly English is fast becoming the singular global language of communication. Asides the downsides of communicating in one language all over the world, there are major benefits which includes the accompanying ease of communication.