Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others
say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your
opinion
It is true that some people think that films should just be for entertainment, while
others believe that they should inform as well as entertain. I strongly agree with
the second view that the film industry should not be simply a source of
entertainment.
On the one hand, many people watch films solely in order to be entertained. To
appeal to audiences, therefore, the film industry usually focuses on the portrayal
of scenes of violent action, accompanied by spectacular effects. Some people
say that we need such films to provide an escape from the stresses of daily life.
Although each film must contain some kind of story, these action movies
bombard audiences with the simplistic theme of bad characters– often alien
monsters – chasing the heroes for 90 minutes. Certainly, the purpose of such
movies, such as ‘Independence Day’ or the ‘Mission Impossible’ series can only
be to entertain, since they have no serious message or even factual content.
On the other hand, I concur with the view that films should be instructive as
well as entertaining. Firstly, historical films like ‘Titanic’ or ‘Schindler’s List’
have some basis in fact for people to learn about the past. The target audience
for such serious films is surprisingly large, suggesting that many people want
films to tackle these subjects. Secondly, even films about the future can have
some educational themes to make audiences think. For example, despite their
absurd exaggerations, the ‘Jurassic Park’ movies have probably inspired many
youngsters to want to know more about dinosaurs.