Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others

say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your

opinion.

It is true that the question of whether the function of movies is only relaxation or also education remains a source of controversy. While a number of people suppose that film producers should focus on its entertainment quality only, I would argue that cinematic products also teach people a lot of lessons.

On the other hand, there are numerous reasons make people believe that the main quality of films is entertainment. Every year, thousands of blockbusters that attract audiences by their advanced visual effect and superstar casts are published to the cinemas. Nonetheless, the subjects and plots of these movies are mainly simple and straightforward which was mostly about love stories, the battles between the goods and the bads or sci-fi. Because of that, the viewers barely need to take the insights of these into account and would be completely relaxed and exhilarated after watching films. As going to cinema is considered a type of recreational activities, many people tend to go for soothing, funny films as a good way of reducing and alleviating their strain. Another reason is that many people especially children are likely to get bored and give on movies that have too many philosophic and academic contents.

One the other hand, the idea that movies should be included more educational content could be beneficial in some ways. Firstly, by taking advantages of the interest of people for filming, some subjects like history, science, family or geography could be combined with the main subject to provide viewers more knowledge and shape their moral personality. Secondly, the addition of education topic could be an effective way to restrict negative content such as violence or sexuality which may severely harm youngsters. For instance, in 2012, in the United States, a teenager attacked a cinema by machine gun after being obsessed by Joker – a notable villain in The Dark Knight movies.

In conclusion, although both views have their undeniable points, it seems to me that we could add more educational subjects to movies to enhance their knowledgable quality.