Research suggests that the majority of criminals who are sent to

prison commit crimes when set free. What are the reasons? What can be

done to solve the problem?

It is true that a large number of criminals go back to illegal activities after being released from jail. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted to improve the situation. There are two primary reasons why the offenders tend to repeat their wrongdoings.

One reason is that the prison is regarded as a punishment location in which captures criminals. However, punishment is not a sufficiently effective measure to convert offenders to honest living. Furthermore, during the period of being captive, the criminals are feasible to associate with other criminals. These bad company could seduce offenders to build up a network for future crimes. Fortunately, several measures could be taken to prevent these problems. The first solution would be an educational and comprehension program should be conducted for offenders to guide them to do the right things. What is more, the government should coordinate with employers to create job opportunities for offenders to give them the second chance to reintegrate into the community. A second measure would be maintaining the segregation between dangerous criminals and the others to avoid the tempting and intimidation from them.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the recommitment of formers crimes after they returned from jails, and steps need to be taken to tackle these problems.