Some people believe that the only purpose of films is to entertain. But others say films should have educational value. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is clear that many people consider watching TV as one of the top hobbies in modern life. While some viewpoints suppose that the most important role of films is recreational, some critics believe that films are also used to aim at educational purposes. Although the original purpose of films is to entertain, I concur that movies are effective approaches to carry out meaningful values.

In terms of entertainment, films obviously are good interventions to relieve stress and boredom. Movies help people to feel less exhausted after a stressful day. In modern life, humans always follow the fast pace of modern societies, so they cannot get away from it all with guided tours or family outings, however, genres of films such as comedy and action act as a stop-gap measure to help busy people to have a whale of time with their family members. Furthermore, virtual worlds which are created by directors as scientific fiction bring people to wonderful adventures that they have never seen in the real world.

However, above of entertainment functions, films also play an integral part in education. Firstly, directors can integrate many educational meanings into their products, and therefore, turn them into exciting educational instruments. Apart from theoretical lessons at schools, children nowadays can be delivered vivid and straightforward illustrations from educational channels. Secondly, people can get many meaningful lessons about moral and humanitarian values behind plots of the films. For example, some psychological films help parents to understand their children’s thoughts and set aside more time for them.

In conclusion, as arguments previously mentioned, I believe that the film industry totally can be used to deliver many valuable lessons instead of only recreational purposes.