Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is thought by some people that reading books brings about a range of benefits rather than watching TV and playing computer games. I am convinced that watching TV also play an important role for children’s development.

It is undeniable that books are instrumental for children to enhance how to use language effectively. On the one hand, children spend their time on reading books, which may help them improve their language competencies. For example, through the fairy tales, a book which is not written in mother tongue leads to a strong language base referring to understanding vocabulary and comprehending language in various contexts. On the other hand, interesting stories are factors to motivate them for their further study, because they are able to use the language from the books to employ in their real lives on a daily basis. Additionally, their communication wiil be improved significantly based on practice with their peers.

However, the contributions of watching TV and playing computers games are necessary for children’s creativeness and imagination. In fact, songs and TV programs for children are a part to encourage children on creative language, and answer questions from adults cleverly. For instance, in Viet Nam, many children prefer watching “Nhanh Nhu Chop” which is a channel for kids. Through this show, children know how to answer the quizzes intelligent ways, which can help them more mature. In addition, educating children via TV show with vivid motions help them remember lessons longer.

In conclusion, in spite of reading books is really important for children’s grow, waching TV and playing computer games are more useful for them as opposed to their mental development.