Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is undeniable that rules and laws implemented by the government play a fundamental role in any society. Therefore, people believe that it is necessary to restrict human beings from complete freedom in order to maintain the social order. My view is that I totally concur with this notion.

Firstly, residents would live under threat of criminals if being free to do as a person please was not under control. In fact, laws and rules have been imposed on delinquents and illegal activities, which have served as not only detention to bad behaviors but also a deterrent to promote the true moral values. In other words, it helps people clarify wrong and right so that they can avoid committing crime. For instance, people who embrace misleading beliefs and eventually turn into offenders like robbers of murderers cause damages to the victims and lead to an uncontrolable society. Thanks to the justice system, the awareness of good manners rises as well as the high rate of criminals is regulated.

Secondly, the lack of compulsory policy will negatively affect the basic needs of inhabitants, which results in a decline in life quality. In terms of finance, merchants would take advantage of products that are in overwhelming demand to gain their profits. This issue brings about impairment in other aspects of life like mental and physical health. Take the medical devices during the first stage of Covid 19 for example, masks and sterilizers were exploited to fulfill personal interest and became too expensive to afford. Since the authorities had not punctually established rules on this matter, the phenomenon kept arousing anxiety in the society where its residents were suffering from both economic crisis and disease.

In conclusion, I fully agree with the idea that people should not be given unlimited choices of their life including misdeeds, which means countries must execute opportune regulation and guidelines to guarantee that function.