Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted to do. To what extent do you agree or not?

It is true that rules and laws are the basics of many modern societies. Therefore, it is sometimes argued that if people were able to do whatever they like, the society could not operate effectively. Personally, I completely agree with this point of view.

On the one hand, laws play a crucial role in protecting the safety of citizens and national stability. Initially, there are several regulations against violence, theft,.... which aim to maintain the quality of life of people. Thanks to this laws, people can be protected illegal activites, consequently feel secure about the safety of themselves and their families. In addition, it would be easier for goverment to manage society and bring country overcome challenges. Let’s take the outbreak of Covid-19 as an example. Since majority of Vietnamese inhabitants conducted social distancing regulation, this country could control this deadly pandemic.

A society could deteriorate in chaos if people’s behaviour were not curbed by any laws and rules. To commence with, if criminal activities were not regulated by government, the well-being of individuals and societies could be at stake. For instance, due to the lack of regulations, businesses can be bankrupted as vandalism or robbery. Furthermore, it can have a detrimental effect on our environment if there are no regulations. People can harm nature, exploit natural resources recklessly for personal gain as they do not have to bear any responsibility for the environment.

To sum up, I believe that society can be safe and functional only when rules and laws exit and set boundaries to people’s freedom.