Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary schools. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is claimed by some specialists that studying at primary schools is the appropriate time for students to adopt a new language instead of secondary schools. Although this trend would take place several limitations, I believe that the benefits do outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, it is clear that primary learners are too young to learn a foreign language in terms of the extent of knowledge and limited time. One evident weakness is that they must study many subjects at school such as academic or non-academic subjects, which would make them study under a high pressure. Furthermore, they are likely to be bored with learning when updating huge knowledge at the same time. Another reason is that they spend too much time on learning activities rather than taking part in outdoor games or playing sports.

On the other hand, learning a new language at young age would bring about many benefits in opposed to improvement of their speaking ability and self-confidence. Firstly, when children go travelling abroad, they are able to communicate well with foreigners. For example, some students may have a great pronunciation and intonation thanks to learning language with native speakers. Second, practicing speaking with others is a great opportunity for learners to widen their confidence. Additionally, presentation sessions play an important part to enhance their future buoyancy. Therefore, they will gradually promote their skills through language training courses.

In conclusion, there are minus points to stuffing many subjects and time limitations. However, it seems to me that it advantages is more important regarding the development of speaking competency and highly confident level.