Working longer hours is becoming more common in today’s society. I personally believe that this trend not only has a severe impact on the workers themselves, but also their families and the community as a whole. Therefore, I totally agree with the idea of limiting working hours.

A few decades ago, a person normally worked an average of eight hours per day. Average daily working hours in recent years, however, have significantly increased to ten or even fourteen. This, in my opinion, adversely affects employee’s health and productivity. For example, people who spend longer at work are more likely to suffer from various health issues, ranging from fatigue to more serious problems like anxiety disorders or even stroke. Failing health leads to more sick leave, poor work performance and low productivity. My cousin is a case in point. Working nearly twelve hours on a daily basis, he frequently feels exhausted and makes more errors at work than he used to.

I also think that working longer hours has serious consequences for families and communities. At the family level, busy working schedules prevent people from taking frequent family trips even just having meals together. Relationships among members are greatly weakened if they cannot make time for each other. In terms of community life, overworked for local community service projects such as conservation work or working with a charity because he works more than sixty hours per week.

In conclusion, I would argue that working time should be reduced since the frequency of long working hours exerts an adverse effect on employees, their family bonds and their community.