Whether homework should be given to school children by their teacher or not is a controversial topic. From my perspective, although homework can lead to some unexpected impacts, it plays a significant role in students’ study because of these following justifications.

On the one hand, giving homework to learners may exert some adverse effects. First, students may be under stress and pressure if they have to complete almost the tasks in different subjects at school. Due to the fact that each lesson will contain hazardous parts which require too much efforts to complete, school children may have difficulty in doing a wide range of them so they will feel anxious and uncomfortable with their study. Additionally, bombarding children with tons of homework will make children have less time for their life, which makes them struggle to spend time with their friends and families. Instead of having opportunity to relax after a hard working day, they are forced to finish the tasks are given by their teachers so thay they will have full schedule of studying and have little chance to immerse themselve in entertainment activities.

On the other hand, the disadvantages of doing homework may be esclipsed by the potential positives. Firstly, homework is considered to be useful source for students to improve their study result. As long as learners are given various types of homework after studying the lesson, they will have great chance to practice more often than not and access to difficult tasks, which means that they may have ability to revise lesson thoroughly and be more confident to do well in examinations. Secondly, completing homework can help students improve their skills, which are extremely necessary for their work and study. For example, when learners do homework in advanced time, they can learn how to manage time. Moreover, practice tasks day by day can improve students’ self-care skill and intelligence as well as logical thinking.

In conclusion, despite the aforementioned drawbacks, I still believed that homework does have an extension role in childhood development.