Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

it is true that there are many different opinions in terms of whether or not school children should be given homework. Personally, I would argue that setting of homework is a necessary aspect of education.

On the one hand, some people believe that homework is an unnecessary burden on school children. Firstly, there is evidence that doing homework does not help to improve educational outcomes. For instance, such countries as Finland where students are not assigned homework – usually top international educational league tables and achieve better results than nations where setting of homework is a common practice. Secondly, there are arguments that the school days are long enough, and the school children are too tired to study further at home. Finally, the play time is as fruitful as study time from the perspective of brain development.

On the other hand, I believe that homework has an important role to play in the education of children. one benefit of doing homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving of the students because they are challenged to apply the knowledge learnt at school to work through their duties alone and at their own pace. Furthermore, it is essential for children to develop an independent study habit since this helps them prepare to work alone as adults.

In conclusion, although both above views certainly have some validity, it seems to me that it is better to give homework to the school children.