Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue thật homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

People have different views about whether school children should be given homework or not. In my perspective, the setting of homework play an important role in educational system.

To begin with, there are several reasons why people might argue that homework is unnecessary burden on children. Firstly, many parents believe that the amount time students study at school is long enough, so they need time to recharge after being under pressure at school. Doing this may balance between play time and study time, which improve their performance in studying as well as brain development. Secondly, it is some evidence to support the idea that setting homework does nothing to improve educational outcomes. Countries such as Finland, where school children are not given homework regularly top international education league tables, and outperform nations where setting homework is a norm. Finally, too much homework also encourages cheating as children tend to copy their classmates có in attempt to finish all their assignments, which is not beneficial for them not only in studying but also at work in the future.

However, I am in opinion that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. The main benefit of homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem- solving skill as children are challenged to study alone at their own pace. By doing this, they can apply knowledge they have learned at school; for example, when doing mathematic exercises, they need to use equations properly, which consolidate their understanding of mathematical definitions. Also, doing homework could develop an independent study habit, which brings about tremendous benefits for their career, when they need to work alone as adults.

In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the advantages outweigh them in the long term