Some people believe that schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information through the internet and they can study just as well at home. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

People’s opinions differ as to whether Internet-based study can replace school curriculum. There are many ifs and buts in this argument, however, from my own perspective, online learning can have both advantages and disadvantages and the latter far outweigh the former.

On the one hand, e-schooling can bring about, among many others, three benefits. This first and also the most important is its rich data sources. Online students are likely to be exposed to a wide variety of study materials from all over the world and thus gain a profound knowledge in all areas of study. Personalized learning process is another merit of online course. Each student follows a particular mode of instruction. Traditional classroom learning is normally designed to meet the needs of most of the students without considering their ability and interests which, in the long run, produces a less effective outcome than that of its online counterpart. Last but not least, for the flexible nature of online curriculum, one can study whenever and wherever they want. As everyone’s schedule is different, this feature probably helps online course members who do not usually have time for study.

On the other hand, this innovative teaching method has two main drawbacks. To commence with, students who study online tend to lack human interaction with other course members and teachers, which was in the past believed to increase the effectiveness of classroom learning, amongst least confident students. Uncensored content is to be taken into consideration as it can have negative impact on students and impede their study progression.

To sum up, after having already weighed up the pros and cons of online learning, the discussion above indicates that their merits outnumber their demerits. Therefore, it is highly recommended that online students should make the full use of online courses’ potentials as well as mitigate their shortcomings.