Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while

others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on the compulsory implementation of sports at schools. While some think youngsters can cope without it, I support those who believe that physical activity highly important for children’s proper formation.

On the one hand, there are people who think that sport activities should be optional due to numerous reasons. Firstly, in order to take part in sport classes, individuals need to know basic data about themselves and about the physical activity that they are allowed to do. However, children at a young age are not able to determine the amount of physical activity that they need. Hence, they can harm themselves by exercising excessively. For example an article was written in the «New York Times» magazine about a schoolboy who tried to lift a barbell that almost crushed him. Secondly, sport uses up time which could be better spent on academic subjects such as chemistry, physics, and history. In other words, studying hard can help to pass exams which are organized in order to test the student's knowledge and not the level of physical endurance.

On the other hand, sports should be integral part of school`s curriculum because of various reasons. First reason is tight correlation between physical activity and cognitive function. To simplify, during physical activity, blood circulates better, and for this reason, brain function improves. For instance, it was proven by scientists that physical attractiveness had a significant effect on well-being among college students. Moreover, when doing sports, a person's self-confidence grows, which in turn has a positive impact on the child's academic performance. To clarify a physically attractive person feels confident in any company, so a sense of confidence lifts a person to new heights. For example, many successful business people excelled in sport at school.

In conclusion, dispute the disadvantages of doing sport at school, there are various benefits like mental and physical development of the child in a young age. Therefore, it should be compulsory