Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, feel that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Recent decades have witnessed a tremendous decrease in health and fitness. While a handful of people hold that sport plays a significant role in this crisis, I consider constant moving with leisure activities would serve people best to achieve optimal health.

On the one hand, not only do sports improve people’s immune system, but it also helps people to alleviate pain and stress in life. The fact that when the “busy” mind starts to come back with the body and be aware of movements, indeed, helps people to achieve inner peace and mindfulness. They may grow the ability to listen to their body and realize unusual symptoms, if any, in their body easily when playing sport. Furthermore, sports often require social connections in teamwork, which mentally and subconsciously enhances people’s well-being.

The majority of people, on the other hand, think light movements in leisure time, but doing it perpetually, also increase longevity. For instance, thousands of centenarians in Blue Zones, which is the ideal environment for life expectancy, moves naturally every minute throughout the day, particularly for doing chores, gardening, and visiting relatives. The idea is that they may get involved in heavy physical activities or sports, but they then avoid doing nothing for the rest of the day. This tendency is beneficial for a full-fledged life.

To recapitulate, the world has become a “slightly less lovely” place regarding costly sports centers, which many people cannot afford with their money and time. Whereas it cannot be denied that sports have always empowered health and fitness, however, leisure activities would help people to enjoy life along with physical movements which, I believe, likely outweigh the benefits of playing sports for a short period of time.