Some people believe that students should take part in extracurricular clubs at school for total personality development, while others believe that it has detrimental effects on academic performance. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

After-school organisations are created to enhance student’s skills and enrolment in these enables them to prepare for the upcoming future. Some people, nevertheless, are of the opinion that getting involved in extracurricular clubs brings out adverse impacts on student’s learning outcomes. From my point of view, moderate attendance at these co-curricular associations gives them total personality accomplishment.

On the one hand, students participating in after-school clubs tend to acquire remarkable improvement in soft skills. Since they have to balance the activities and academic work , they will gradually make progress on time-managing skill. Partaking in extracurricular also create valuable chances for graduates to meet, to interact and make friends, then promote social relationships. In addition, when involved in an organisation, their responsibility might be enhanced considerably as they have to make sure the work gets done so they have to set aside the time to do it. Apparently, attaining success when joining a club will, in turn, boost their confidence and the euphoria may stimulate them to dedicate more and more. Therefore, extracurricular helps to develop a well-rounded student in all respects, especially their characteristic.

On the other hand, this participation can be a burden to students as well, such as inability of finishing all assignments and concentrating on their studies performance since they chronically overschedule themselves. Some students in inadequate health state may witness their physical and mental wellness being undesirably affected by the huge workload. Their academic results will also be unfavourably influenced as they are psychologically stressed or even diagnosed with other serious mental illnesses.

Finally, in my opinion, whether learners should enroll in co-curricular associations or not, depends on moderation. For instance, if too much time goes on after-school activities, one will face detrimental effects mentioned above; but if too much time goes on academic study, one will lack of practical experience and soft skills that are the keys to a novel world.

In conclusion, getting involved in extracurricular organisations will bring out a variety of merits if students are capable of balancing their time on each proportion. Hence, students can gain experience, skills and broaden their minds when joining in co-curricular activities in moderation.