Some people believe that studying in a college or university is the best way for students to prepare for their future career. Others think they should leave school as soon as possible to develop their career through work experience. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people think that completing an academic study in a college or university benefits a person’s preparation for the future career while others hold a view that students should start working after they graduated from high schools. In my opinion, both theoretical knowledge and practical skills are important to students’ future.

People who consider students ought to take a further study believe that learning profoundly in a field or some files is important and necessary to future work in such fields. Compared to high schools which just teach some superficial knowledge with a broad scope, colleges or universities focus more on specific areas to students who choose corresponding majors. For example, for students who would like to be an accountant in the future, colleges or universities design courses that are related to their future career. However, in high school, they must learn history, geography, art and other subjects which are not quite useful to their work and life.

The other people think taking academic studies in colleges or universities is a waste of time and students should obtain the working experience as soon as possible. Those people argue that learning while working is the most effective way to study and meanwhile, to put what people learnt into practice. For instance, most universities only educate students theoretical knowledge but the real application may be different from what students acquired from teachers or books. Getting high marks in the exams does not mean they can work well, students have to learn from the beginning to suit the practical work anyway. Therefore, learning from working is more efficient.

As for me, both sides have their own considerations, so both are correct to some extent. My suggestion is that students can obtain the theoretical knowledge as a part-time student and full-time worker in colleges or universities, or take some internships to attain working experience over their studying period.